My idea for transitional housing #homeless #chicago #housing

This came about while sitting in my current home, a Ford Explorer. I was also thinking about what the shelters are like and my complete distaste for how I have seen the major one here is run. I also can’t relate to the other clients, not to mention I think it it much safer not to go there. With that little sidebar said it is time to put a different idea out there.

After reading an article on empty houses in the Chicagoland area the light bulb in my head went on. There has to be some landlords out there that have more units available than they can possible keep at 100% capacity at any given time. My idea is a truly different take on transitional housing. The landlord could donate use of the apartment to a nonprofit who screens the individual or individuals who would be staying there. In return the nonprofit would provide a charitable donation receipt to the landlord which could be used in the form of a tax deduction for the value of rent they provide. As the person gets back on their feet the apartment or house is then transferred by form of a lease to the individual that is already there. Sounds like a win for all involved. Granted there are some other issues that would need to be addressed such as how to pay utilities.

I would love to get some feedback on this idea and how to make it work.

So I may as well use this to start promoting myself. If anyone has any computer problems they need solved feel free to leave a comment here,
email chihomelessguy@gmail.com,
dm @chihomelessguy on twitter or
message on Facebook Chi Homelessguy. I guarantee the work and if you aren’t satisfied when I’m done you don’t pay. I’m also willing to work for much less than I should charge because of the circumstances I am in. Do you have an old laptop you aren’t using? I’ll barter my services for it.

If anyone reading this finds it in their heart they would like to help me, it can be done by http://www.gofundme.com/58fd60

Leave a Reply

