The economics of being homeless

People that aren’t in this situation take small things for granted. I’ve had to put a lot of thought into the situation to figure out at the very minimum what I need to scrape together a day just to survive. The biggest expense would be my vehicle insurance. Luckily I obtained a year long policy before I found myself in this situation. Hopefully I will be out of my predicament before I have to renew in February.

So I have come up with necessities. Communication, hygiene, substinance. Sounds simple right? Not so much when working your way from the bottom up.

So to enable any potential employers to contact you you have to have a way to communicate. The one item I have left that enables me to do that is my phone. At $60 month it may seem like a luxury, but it is a necessity. I can look for jobs, make the necessary call to coordinate whatever it may be and even post this blog. So let’s break things down by day. The phone is $2.

Hygiene. You have to stay clean. You can’t show up for an interview looking like you came off the streets. I’ve also had a chance to do some one off computer gigs, can’t show up smelly at those either. I mentioned in a previous post that trial memberships at gyms are great. But there are only so many of those to go around and does it cost more to get there than it does to have a month to month membership somewhere. I had to get a membership at one of them and the most economical because I can walk there is $57 month. Once again about $2 a day.

You can’t survive without food. I’ve almost got this down to a science now. I can eat for a day on $5 and do it in a mostly healthy manner with some variety.

Laundry. This goes with hygiene. But you have to take care of your clothes to keep your appearance up and keep them in good shape. I have to do laundry once every two weeks. It costs about $10 to do two loads. Roughly $.75 day.

The only other necessity is gas for the vehicle. While the amount needed can vary I stick with trying to put away $2 a day for this. At current gas prices in the city of $3.60 a gallon that gives me roughly 75 miles a week I can drive if need be. Most likely less because the heater can get run at night for short periods when it is really cold.

So there it is, one way or another I need to come up with $10.75 a day just to survive. Anything extra gets tucked away to get out of this situation. But until I find full time employment, this is what I have to do since who knows where the next months rent would come from even when I do manage to save enough. Right now that total is $28. So some food for thought what does it cost you a day to live your lifestyle? Could you survive on $350 a month?

If anyone decides they would like to help, be it $.50 or anything. http://www.gofundme.com/58fd60 Hopefully this post made people see what they really take for granted.

One thought on “The economics of being homeless

  1. Pingback: Time to address the Panhandling situation and the harassment and embarrassment that goes along with it #Chicago #homeless #panhandling | The Chronicles of a homeless man in Chicago

Leave a Reply

